Heath Brothers’ Quartet at Birdland

I enjoyed a live performance of one of my favorite jazz standards last night, Mal Waldron’s Soul Eyes from the tenor saxophone of the legendary Jimmy Heath. His tone was perfect, masterful.  He turns 82 next month, but my how he can still blow.  Backed by his former Queens College student, Jeb Patton on piano, David Wong on bass, and his “baby brother,” Albert “Tootie” Heath (who, by-the-way, nattily rocked a perfectly-knotted bowtie) holding it down on the drums, he brought the bop blessings. My friend, the jazz-loving Henry Adebonojo, beautifully photographed the shots below.

Jimmy Heath plays Billy Strayhorn’s “Daydream.”

Jeb Patton on piano; David Wong on bass.

3 Responses

  1. Having run down for you my short-list of jazz giants I want to see, all you have to do is say the word and I’ll be there. Plus next time I won’t wait as long into the show to whip out the camera.

  2. Yeaaah, Nice!!

    X

  3. […] I’ve rolled with Henry to some wonderful jazz performances (such as the Heath Brothers at Birdland and Sir Ron Carter with his Juilliard colleagues, Dr. Eddie Henderson, Carl Allen, Ron […]

Leave a Reply

