Coloring the Comics

This Friday teeming hordes of pop culture fans will descend upon The Javits Center for New York Comic Con, the East Coast’s largest popular culture convention for a weekend of panels and previewing the latest in comics, graphic novels, anime, manga, video games, toys, movies, and television.  In the creative conglomeration will be a number of African-American artists, who like Aaron McGruder continue to blaze a trail bringing black faces and stories to the pages of comic books and graphic novels.

N. Steven Harris

Sequential illustrator, N.Steven Harris, whose fierce, kick-ass protagonist, Jasira, from The Fringe book series is pictured here will discuss the Black presence in comics tonight on 90.3 WHCR between 8:30 and 10:30pm. Click here for the link to the live webcast.

the_fringe_bk1_p19_by_nstevenharris1

From “The Fringe, Book 1,” by N. Steven Harris

Andre Campbell

His affection for the Marvel Comics vision-impaired hero Daredevil a no-brainer, Baltimore-based cartoonist Andre Campbell is himself legally blind.  My mom recently hipped me to his work through a Washington Post Magazine cover story.

captain_goodwill

One of Andre Campbell’s characters for Heritage Comics, Captain Goodwill.

Jennifer Cruté

Freckle-faced artist Jennifer Cruté is the muse for her own illustrated remembrances in Jennifer’s Journal: The Life of a Suburban Girl.  Her simply drawn characters have a nostalgic roundness that calls to mind Sunny, Honey and the early days of  Ebony Jr.

coloryoma

A portrait of the artist as ‘burbs-to-urban transplant on the A train.

spbyjenn2

A couple of years ago, Jenn Cruté presented me with my own likeness for my birthday.

4 Responses

  1. Sharon,
    Thank you for this post!! This is right up my alley!!!

  2. It’s been a while since I’ve been into comics . . . now I see what I’ve been missing. I got a Jasira in me. I feel her stirring. Thank you. Thank you all.

  3. Hey Sharon,

    Bianca just showed this to me. Thank you so much for your
    support and dynamic description.

    You are freakin’ awesome!!!!

    Thanks again!

  4. […] is my friend, N Steven Harris, creator of the Brotherhood of the Fringe, and subject of a previous pendulum post . If you can, roll through, Steven is quite talented as are his […]

Leave a Reply

