Epperson Takes to the “Runway”

I’ve known Rodney Epperson for almost as long as I’ve been in New York City, and that’s a loooong time.  He is simply a stellar human being. There wasn’t a dry eye in the garden when in an incredibly moving outdoor ceremony he wed the equally lovely and talented Lisha Gh’Rael (wearing a dress of his design.)  Deeply spiritual, wonderfully creative and with hearts as huge and open as their smiles, they have inspired me with their love, commitment and collaboration. They and their brood of charming children are a delight to be around.

I’ve had the pleasure of working with him as well variously over the years, pulling his artfully constructed garments for myself as well countless photo shoots with everyone from Erykah Badu to a recent shoot with the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater.

Known in the industry simply as Epperson, he is a major talent who deserves a much wider berth to share his gifts and I am absolutely thrilled that tonight at 10pm he debuts on the sixth season of Project Runway.  Check the Lifetime website for the good word on my designing friend, the one with the perennially perfect beard.

Congratulations, Epperson!  I, we, so many of us are rooting for you.

EppersonSketch

An Epperson Sketch from myLifetime.com

12 Responses

  1. so cool – good to know. bridgett turned me on to that show, and I love it.

  2. I am so HAPPY for EPPERSON. He deserves this!!

  3. My favorite reality tv show, now with one of my fav designers, no one of my favorite people.
    I can’t wait and i’ll be rooting for him as well!

  4. Epperson is just one of those people that you see around in the industry and he truly will make you feel that you know him too, with his hi or a glance. I know he doesn’t know my name and i haven’t seen him in a few minutes but if he saw me today-there would be a knowing hi. I am was soooo happy to see him in the ads and although I havent followed since first season which is usually the best season in reality shows, I will follow and wish him the best. He’s definitely deserving.

  5. I know that when (WHEN!) he wins he’ll remain the same, sweet person. Can’t wait to watch/root for him!

  6. I love me some Epperson. This is great news and I will be watching. Thanks Sharon for always bringing the noise.

  7. Good to know – will definitely send some love his way!

  8. Great news! Thanks for sharing this. He’s surely deserving of this spot in the limelight.

  9. Hey Sharon,

    How are you? Can you send the newsletter to: harlemworldinfo@yahoo.com

    Thanks,
    Daniel

  10. 12 years ago i went to epperson with a vague idea for what i wanted my wedding dress to look like. he in turn, designed a beautiful, elegant, and classic gown that i still get compliments on to this day from people who attended my wedding or have seen the pictures. i hope to see him go all the way on the show and in the competition!!

  11. Go Epperson!!!!! I remember when you were doing hats and Warren and I were doing under/ activewear. Its been a while. Just know we are rooting for you.
    Peace

  12. Hi! I realise this may be a strange question, but I was wondering if you know what the names of Epperson’s kids are. I’m subtitling the first episode of Project Runway season 6 and he mentions his kids by name, it’s just that I can’t figure out how to spell them. If you could help me out that would be great. Otherwise I’ll have to go with a phonetic rendition 🙂 Thanks much in advance.

Leave a Reply

