“Free,” At Last

Note: the free list has been updated; go to the blog post “Free v.2” to download the latest version.

I love a free thing. I really do. So with the Memorial Day Weekend heralding the unofficial start of the summer season, I gleefully began compiling my annual list of Summer freebies, outdoor events mostly, that are part of the appeal of summering in New York City. A girl’s gotta have options, so I like to do a chronological breakdown, you know, to make informed choices. Click the link below for a downloadable PDF.

At Brooklyn’s Metrotech alone, we’ve got an awesome line-up of women in a month (July) of Thursday afternoons: Oleta Adams, Leela James, Phoebe Snow, Alice Smith and the incomparable MeShell N’degeocello.

Queens holds it down with both Warm Up at PS1 and the smartly selected series of films at Socrates Sculpture Park, with its incredible waterfront view and the best in modern sculpture. (The dates at both venues are yet to be announced)

In the Boogie Down, the birthplace of Hip Hop, First Fridays at the Bronx Museum kicks off tonight with Dance to the Music, a celebration of the culture.

Staten Island’s in the mix too, with haps at the South Beach Boardwalk.

And Manhattan’s got it all from Shakespeare in the Park to Santogold headlining at SummerStage.

This is just the first iteration. V.2 is coming soon, when more schedules have been announced.

Maybe I’ll see you…

3 Responses

  1. thanks, Sharon…
    maybe see you for a beer or two outdoors @Shakespeare etc. this summer…
    make the best of being in nyc
    xo
    *N

  2. Wow! This list is not only massive, but aesthetically pleasing as well. You rock, Sharon! You’ll have to let me know some of the ones you have your eye on. 🙂

  3. You know, I told you that I did this for transplants to DC years ago (and for some of the DC homefolk as well)…but I guarantee you, it never looked like this! Great job sis!

Leave a comment